Reviews

The Ambassador Hotel is a 1920s boutique lodging destination distinguished by impeccable service. Where chain hotels are known for their generic approach, the Ambassador offers personalized service and attention to every detail of the guest experience. Choosing the Ambassador is not just about selecting a hotel, but a home away from home served by true ambassadors of hospitality. If you are considering a stay with us, please read the hotel reviews below to learn what past guests have to say about their visit with us.

  • A hit with all my friends and family

    The Ambasador Hotel hits high marks in all areas. I've personally stayed here after concerts across the street (& then got to meet some of the artists at the hotel bar) and for girlfriend's birthdays. I've

    Jennifer H Mar 12, 0017
  • An absolutely incredible property!

    We had the pleasure of staying at thi rejuvenated property jut recently and all I can say is wow! The Art Deco style of this hotel is such a welcome change from the ways that new hotels are going. The character

    Kevin F Mar 12, 0017
  • Wonderful place to stay!

    Stunning hotel! Beautifully preserved and decorated Art Deco tyle. Walking through the hotel, you can just imagine the memories created here over the years. Frank Sinatra music and others like him pumped through

    Jacquic4498 Mar 15, 0017
  • Great stay

    My fiance and I loved our room that was complimentary upgraded for us, at the same price we paid for a different room. Great sleep! Whole place was gorgeous! Staff was super welcoming and friendly. 10/10 we will

    carieanneg Mar 16, 0017
  • Beautiful Hotel--a Milwaukee Treasure!

    We had a great stay at the Ambassador! The lobby is incredibly beautiful. We appreciated the attention to detail in restoring this Milwaukee treasure. Our room was large, quiet, and very comfortable. In keeping

    PeggyVW Mar 16, 0017
  • Girls Night

    Great way to start our weekend. From the valet greeting us when we walked in to the service desk attendant were genuine, kind and very helpful. They were inviting and were glad you were there. Thank you.

    kellysO4007MB Feb 26, 0017
  • Outstanding renovations

    The old Ambassador has been restored to its full glory and then some...it was a magnificent and regal stay. I loved the comfort of the place, especially with Sinatra music being played throughout. Great stay. I

    jamesfh2017 Feb 22, 0017
  • Excellent experience

    Highly recommend this Hotel

    Greg Jan 16, 0017
  • EXTRAORDINARY

    I was overwhelmed at how nice this hotel was and how amazing the staff were. I will definetly be back to this location. They offer such great services both in the hotel and outside the hotel. Drinks and appetizers

    kristic177 Feb 15, 0017
  • Easy access to everything Milwaukee had to offer

    Great historical building on the fringe of downtown makes it easy to get around to everything there is to do. Complimentary shuttle to restaurants and more. Very nicely updated and super comfy bed. My girlfriend

    steven f Feb 17, 0017
  • Comfortable, clean

    Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and had everything that we needed for a one night's stay. It was also very quiet. Secure parking was great and very convenient, also enjoyed the bar at the end of our evening.

    R6318Mdeborahh Feb 13, 0017
  • Great customer service

    Connie was so amazing...what a great staff! Great drinks at the bar. Stayed there a few times and every time the experience just gets better. Room was beautiful and it was very quiet for sleeping. Very efficient

    A2446Fchristinel Feb 13, 0017
  • Exceeded Our Expectations

    I brought my mom from Canada to Milwaukee for her 75th Birthday. Initially she had no idea where we were going. When we arrived in the USA at a connecting flight in St Paul, she realized we were going to Milwaukee.

    Heather T Jan 06, 2017
  • Good Service

    I was suprised how nice this hotel was and the receptionist here is wonderful, i think her name was Shanay if im not mistaking. At first i was kind of skeptical mostly due to the fact that i never heard of the

    Will S Jan 08, 2017
  • Perfect downtown stay!

    Loved everything about our stay. We were in town for our niece's wedding and everything was perfect from beginning to end. Loved the complimentary shuttle service to get to the wedding and back! Our rooms were

    pattyh583 Dec 26, 2016
  • What a Pleasant Surprise!

    The Ambassador Hotel was a very pleasant surprise! I hadn't stayed there before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I had heard that the hotel was a historic place, but I wasn't ready for the wonderful art deco restoration.

    WindyCityProf Dec 01, 2016
  • Historic Charming hotel with Great Amenities

    Awesome place, very clean and beautiful decor. Having the lounge and restaurant on-site is great. Offers shuttle service, which we did not use but will try when we return for local brewery tours. Pet friendly and

    kimtX4550OA Dec 01, 2016
  • Will Return Definitely

    As others have indicated recently in their review, starting with the staff, cleanliness, décor, shuttle which took us all over with no problem, restaurant very good, parking convenient and on and on. The nicest

    Linda C Dec 01, 2016
  • Best Hotel I've Been To

    Memorable stay at the Ambassador, with the best service we've ever got anywhere we've stayed. Well worth the money for the quality of room, service and convenient location. Would recommend to anyone staying in

    373breannap Nov 24, 2016
  • Beautiful Hotel - 85 Years Young!

    Walking into the lobby was like a step back in time. A gorgeous hotel, lovingly renovated and maintained - a 1920's gem. Staff was attentive and professional. Room was large and comfortable. Hubby used the shuttle

    tracyolivia Sep 13, 2016
  • Excellent in every way!

    This was a last moment find and it was an excellent experience is every way! The staff is friendly, helpful and resourceful without lacking in experience. That was a late arrival and the person in the person in

    Billie T Sep 01, 2016
  • A hit with all my friends and family

    The Ambasador Hotel hits high marks in all areas. I've personally stayed here after concerts across the street (& then got to meet some of the artists at the hotel bar) and for girlfriend's birthdays. I've also set up rooms for family visits. The staff is friendly and accommodating (espesially Lindsay at the bar and Santiago, the shuttle driver). The beds are extremely comfortable to the point that my girlfriends and I had to drag ourselves out of them. Theres a free shuttle to head downtown or to Miller Park for a game. This is a great boutique hotel with fun decor (check out the door to the women's restroom in the lobby) and my hotel of choice when I need one in the Milwaukee area.

    Jennifer H Mar 12, 2017
  • An absolutely incredible property!

    We had the pleasure of staying at thi rejuvenated property jut recently and all I can say is wow! The Art Deco style of this hotel is such a welcome change from the ways that new hotels are going. The character of this property truly stands out but what stands out more is the incredible staff. They are amazing to deal with and made everything about the stay phenomenal. A very personable team that was always willing to talk and help out a couple of Canadians with where to go and what to see in the mid west. I would highly reccomend checking this property out and taking a step back in time with forward thinking service. Thanks again Ambassador Hotel! 

    Kevin F, Halifax Mar 12, 2017
  • Wonderful place to stay!

    Stunning hotel! Beautifully preserved and decorated Art Deco tyle. Walking through the hotel, you can just imagine the memories created here over the years. Frank Sinatra music and others like him pumped through the hotel add to the ambiance. Love the elevator with a real door. Staff was great especially the shuttle drivers - Tom and Monica!

    Jacquic4498, Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin Mar 15, 2017
  • Great stay

    My fiance and I loved our room that was complimentary upgraded for us, at the same price we paid for a different room. Great sleep! Whole place was gorgeous! Staff was super welcoming and friendly. 10/10 we will be back!

    carieanneg, Spring Lake Mar 16, 2017
  • Beautiful Hotel--a Milwaukee Treasure!

    We had a great stay at the Ambassador! The lobby is incredibly beautiful. We appreciated the attention to detail in restoring this Milwaukee treasure. Our room was large, quiet, and very comfortable. In keeping with the vintage mood, we toured the Pabst Mansion and had a fantastic meal at the 5 O'clock Steakhouse nearby. we will definetly stay at the Ambassador again when we return to Milwaukee. 

    PeggyVW, Minneapolis, Minnesota Mar 16, 2017
  • Girls Night

    Great way to start our weekend. From the valet greeting us when we walked in to the service desk attendant were genuine, kind and very helpful. They were inviting and were glad you were there. Thank you.

    kellysO4007MB, Appleton, WI Feb 26, 2017
  • Outstanding renovations

    The old Ambassador has been restored to its full glory and then some...it was a magnificent and regal stay. I loved the comfort of the place, especially with Sinatra music being played throughout. Great stay. I wholeheartedly recommend it

    jamesfh2017, Kearny, New Jersey Feb 22, 2017
  • Excellent experience

    Highly recommend this Hotel

    Greg Jan 16, 2017
  • EXTRAORDINARY

    I was overwhelmed at how nice this hotel was and how amazing the staff were. I will definetly be back to this location. They offer such great services both in the hotel and outside the hotel. Drinks and appetizers in the bar were also very good!

    kristic177, Oshkosh, WI Feb 15, 2017
  • Easy access to everything Milwaukee had to offer

    Great historical building on the fringe of downtown makes it easy to get around to everything there is to do. Complimentary shuttle to restaurants and more. Very nicely updated and super comfy bed. My girlfriend wanted to take it home! Would definetly stay here next time in Milwaukee. 

    steven f, Pearl Lake, WI Feb 17, 2017
  • Comfortable, clean

    Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and had everything that we needed for a one night's stay. It was also very quiet. Secure parking was great and very convenient, also enjoyed the bar at the end of our evening. Staff was very polite and helpful. Will definetly stay here again. 

    R6318Mdeborahh, Monticello Feb 13, 2017
  • Great customer service

    Connie was so amazing...what a great staff! Great drinks at the bar. Stayed there a few times and every time the experience just gets better. Room was beautiful and it was very quiet for sleeping. Very efficient staff

    A2446Fchristinel, West Allis, Wisconsin Feb 13, 2017
  • Exceeded Our Expectations

    I brought my mom from Canada to Milwaukee for her 75th Birthday. Initially she had no idea where we were going. When we arrived in the USA at a connecting flight in St Paul, she realized we were going to Milwaukee. She asked why we would be going there and I told her that I couldn't come up with a better idea for her birthday so thought that since I missed it last time i was in the city, I wanted to go to the Harley Davidson Museum and thought she might as well tag along with me.!! Hahaha! She obviously was not impressed that that was my idea of a great Bday gift for her BUT in typical "mom" fashion feigned being a good sport and said Oh, OK, thanks! The truth was that I was taking her to the Broadway Musical of the Sound of Music which is her all time favorite film. It was simply fantastic and we also actually did go to the HD Museum too which she thoroughly enjoyed as well - especially when we found her birth year 1942 display of bikes. The part that really impressed us was our accommodations at the Ambassador Hotel. From the lady that checked us in when we got there to the room that far exceeded our expectations for the price we paid! WOW! coming from Canada in which our exchange rate add's about 32% to all of our purchases in the USA I must say this room was fantastic for the price! We had a great waitress in the lounge that first night for a night cap and then the next two days lunch that were simply amazing. Ike, our waiter in the Envoy restaurant was fantastic - 50 years of serving service definitely shone both times we came in and the food was simply superb thanks to Juan Martinez. WOW the soup this man creates - a must try! These two men rounded up our meal with a decadent surprise desert for my mom's birthday. I can't thank either of you enough for making her stay such a memorable one. I must also thank the fantastic drivers of the free shuttle service this hotel provides that took us pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. It was a breath of fresh air (albeit a Milwaukee winter cold one haha!) having this personal option instead of having to rely on taxi's. We had three different drivers during our stay and all three were excellent. Monica was most special to us as she brought a bit of a personal "get to know thy neighbor" touch & we wish for her & her family health, happiness and prosperity. I will be riding my motorcycle back to Milwaukee with 50-+ riders for the 2018 Harley Davidson 115th anniversary celebrations. See you then!

    Heather T Jan 06, 2017
  • Good Service

    I was suprised how nice this hotel was and the receptionist here is wonderful, i think her name was Shanay if im not mistaking. At first i was kind of skeptical mostly due to the fact that i never heard of the hotel before but once again i was suprised with how nice it was and the service. I definately would return.

    Will S Jan 08, 2017
  • Perfect downtown stay!

    Loved everything about our stay. We were in town for our niece's wedding and everything was perfect from beginning to end. Loved the complimentary shuttle service to get to the wedding and back! Our rooms were spacious and very clean.

    pattyh583 Dec 26, 2016
  • What a Pleasant Surprise!

    The Ambassador Hotel was a very pleasant surprise! I hadn't stayed there before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I had heard that the hotel was a historic place, but I wasn't ready for the wonderful art deco restoration. The foyer, halls, elevators, and rooms were all reminiscent of early 20th Century architecture. This was a business trip for me, and I brought my wife along so she could catch up on reading and relaxing. She enjoyed spending time in our spacious king room, and she found some good spots to sit and read/people-watch in the lobby and coffee shop. This is a fun and attractive place to stay. There are two excellent restaurants in the hotel, and the service and food are great. We spent 3 nights at the Ambassador, and we weren't anxious to leave!

    WindyCityProf Dec 01, 2016
  • Historic Charming hotel with Great Amenities

    Awesome place, very clean and beautiful decor. Having the lounge and restaurant on-site is great. Offers shuttle service, which we did not use but will try when we return for local brewery tours. Pet friendly and very friendly and helpful staff.

    kimtX4550OA Dec 01, 2016
  • Will Return Definitely

    As others have indicated recently in their review, starting with the staff, cleanliness, décor, shuttle which took us all over with no problem, restaurant very good, parking convenient and on and on. The nicest I have stayed in recent years and will definitely return. The price was also very reasonable. I will definitely share information with my friends.

    Linda C Dec 01, 2016
  • Best Hotel I've Been To

    Memorable stay at the Ambassador, with the best service we've ever got anywhere we've stayed. Well worth the money for the quality of room, service and convenient location. Would recommend to anyone staying in Milwaukee and would stay again. Thank you.

    373breannap Nov 24, 2016
  • Beautiful Hotel - 85 Years Young!

    Walking into the lobby was like a step back in time. A gorgeous hotel, lovingly renovated and maintained - a 1920's gem. Staff was attentive and professional. Room was large and comfortable. Hubby used the shuttle service to the baseball game - very convenient as it was raining that evening and we didn't have to drive in it. We were completely satisfied and will return to the Ambassador on our next trip to Milwaukee.

    tracyolivia, Atlanta Sep 13, 2016
  • Excellent in every way!

    This was a last moment find and it was an excellent experience is every way! The staff is friendly, helpful and resourceful without lacking in experience. That was a late arrival and the person in the person in the front desk handled everything in a phenomenal speed and a sense of humor I loved. The room was immaculate. The wi-fi Internet was really fast! The dinner and lunch in the hotel's restaurant were touching perfections. Warm dishes came in heated plates, cold dishes in cold plates and the water, coffee, wine ware served in the right temperature. I will try to book in advance next time in the area. 

    Billie T, Des Moines, Iowa Sep 01, 2016